ALERRT combines the strengths of leading African and European partners in epidemic-prone infectious diseases research. We are committed to delivering an agile research response that supports national, regional and global health security initiatives. 

The members of the Governance teams are listed below.

Executive committee

The Executive Committee is the supervisory body for the execution of the project. The Executive Committee reports to and is accountable to the General Assembly. Executive Committee meetings will take place at least four times a year and quorum is 2/3 of members. A representative of the EDCTP will observe the Committee meetings.



General Assembly

The General Assembly (GA) is the ultimate decision making body of the ALERRT Consortium and consists of one voting member from each ALERRT partner institution. Meetings of the GA will be held at least once a year and quorum is 2/3 of voting members.



International Scientific Advisory Board

The International Advisory Board (IAB) advises the General Assembly and Executive Committee on the performance of ALERRT, its output and its collaboration with and embedment in international initiatives. IAB members have access to all non-confidential project information and are allowed to participate in General Assembly meetings upon invitation but do not have any voting rights.

International Advisory Board member (Area of expertise / affiliation)

  • Herman Goossens (Clinical Research / Lead of PREPARE)

  • Myriam Henkens (MSF)

  • Godfrey Tangwa (Ethics)

  • Ibrahima Soce Fall (AFRO)

  • John Nkengasong (Africa CDC)

  • Julienne Anoko (Social Science)

  • Christian Brechot (Former President of the Institut Pasteur)